A family tradition since... well, as long as I can remember!

1 c molasses

1 c sugar

¾ c oleo – 1 ½ sticks (we now use butter)

2 eggs (beaten)

4 ¼ c flour

½ t salt

2 T cinnamon

2 T ginger

1 T soda

½ T vanilla                                                                  Bake 375º  8-10 min or less

My mother’s oldest sister, Esther Smith, never married, but lived with our family during our childhood. We never knew what a babysitter was: there was no need with a live-in aunt. She helped Mom with cooking, canning and gardening, and knew more about baseball than any other person I have ever met.

            At Christmas time, she took charge of baking gingerbread cookies. Although I don’t remember her using a recipe, this is exactly what she wrote down for me a few years before her death in 1985.  She assumed I knew what to do with these things, and we assume you do too. Merry Christmas!

